The House Baltic Caucus (HBC)



The Lithuanian parliament awarded House Baltic Caucus co-chair rep. John Shimkus (R-IL) for his contribution to Lithuania's independence and statehood

Posted by Central and East European Coalition on February 20, 2015 at 12:30 PM

The Lithuanian parliament has awarded the country's allies in the United States, local representatives and officials for their contribution to Lithuania's independence and statehood.



Among those awarded for their input to the restoration of Lithuania's independence will be US Senator Dick Durbin and Congressman John Shimkus.


The parliamentary award for fostering the Lithuanian spirit and outstanding personal contribution to Lithuania's diplomacy will go to ex-ambassador to Ukraine Petras Vaitiekūnas, who is also a signatory of the 1990 Lithuanian independence act.


Awards will also be conferred on about a dozen of Lithuanian officers, artists and journalists.


The special award for the contribution to Lithuania's independence, fostering of state and parliamentary traditions and promotion of the society's well-being was established by the parliament's board last year. A person will only be able to receive the award once in his or her life.




Categories: None

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

Already a member? Sign In